Daniel Webster
Daniel WebsterJanuary 18, 1782 - October 24, 1852
Haile Selassie
Haile SelassieJuly 23, 1892 - 1975
Stanley Baldwin
Stanley BaldwinAugust 3, 1867 - December 14, 1947
Stanley Baldwin, 1st Earl Baldwin of Bewdley, KG PC FRS (3 August 1867 – 14 December 1947) was a British Conservative politician, who dominated the government in his country between the two world wars. Three times Prime Minister, he is the only premier to have served under three monarchs (George V, Edward VIII and George VI). Baldwin first entered the House of Commons in 1908 as the Member of Parliament for Bewdley, and held government office in the coalition ministry of David Lloyd George. In 1922, Baldwin was one of the prime movers in the withdrawal of Conservative support from Lloyd...
John Lubbock
John LubbockApril 30, 1834 - May 28, 1913
John Lubbock is the name of: Sir John Lubbock, 1st Baronet (1744–1816) Sir John Lubbock, 2nd Baronet (1774–1840), English banker Sir John Lubbock, 3rd Baronet (1803–1865), English banker, barrister, mathematician and astronomer John Lubbock, 1st Baron Avebury (1834–1913), English banker, politician, naturalist and archaeologist John Lubbock, 2nd Baron Avebury (1858–1929), English aristocrat and banker John Lubbock, 3rd Baron Avebury (1915–1971), English peer John Lubbock (conductor), founder and conductor of the Orchestra of St John's, Smith Square...
Nikita Khrushchev
Nikita KhrushchevApril 17, 1894 - September 11, 1971
Nikita Sergeyevich Khrushchev (April 15 [O.S. April 3] 1894 – September 11, 1971) was a Russian politician who led the Soviet Union during part of the Cold War. He served as First Secretary of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union from 1953 to 1964, and as Chairman of the Council of Ministers, or Premier, from 1958 to 1964. Khrushchev was responsible for the de-Stalinization of the Soviet Union, for backing the progress of the early Soviet space program, and for several relatively liberal reforms in areas of domestic policy. Khrushchev's party colleagues removed him from power in 1964,...
Madeleine Albright
Madeleine AlbrightMay 13, 1937 -
Madeleine Jana Korbel Albright (born Marie Jana Korbelová; May 15, 1937) is a Czechoslovakian-born American politician and diplomat. She is the first woman to have become the United States Secretary of State. She was nominated by U.S. President Bill Clinton on December 5, 1996, and was unanimously confirmed by a U.S. Senate vote of 99–0. She was sworn in on January 23, 1997. Albright currently serves as a professor of International Relations at Georgetown University's Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service. She holds a PhD from Columbia University and numerous honorary degrees. In May...
Kofi Annan
Kofi AnnanApril 8, 1938 -
Kofi Atta Annan (born 8 April 1938) is a Ghanaian diplomat who served as the seventh Secretary-General of the United Nations from January 1997 to December 2006. Annan and the United Nations were the co-recipients of the 2001 Nobel Peace Prize "for their work for a better organized and more peaceful world." He is the founder and the Chairman of the Kofi Annan Foundation, as well as being the chairman of The Elders, a group founded by Nelson Mandela. From 23 February until 31 August 2012, Annan was the UN–Arab League Joint Special Representative for Syria, to help find a resolution to ongoing...
Vladimir Putin
Vladimir PutinOctober 7, 1952 -
Dean Acheson
Dean AchesonApril 11, 1893 - October 12, 1971
Dean Gooderham Acheson (pronounced /ˈætʃɨsən/; April 11, 1893 – October 12, 1971) was an American statesman and lawyer. As United States Secretary of State in the administration of President Harry S. Truman from 1949 to 1953, he played a central role in defining American foreign policy during the Cold War. Acheson helped design the Marshall Plan and played a central role in the development of the Truman Doctrine and creation of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. Acheson's most famous decision was convincing President Truman to intervene in the Korean War in June 1950. He also...
Tony Blair
Tony BlairMay 6, 1953 -
Anthony Charles Lynton "Tony" Blair (born 6 May 1953) is a British Labour Party statesman, who served as the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1997 to 2007. He now runs a consultancy business and performs charitable work. Blair was the Member of Parliament (MP) for Sedgefield from 1983 to 2007 and Leader of the Labour Party from 1994 to 2007. Blair led Labour to a landslide victory in the 1997 general election, winning 418 seats, the most the party has ever held. The party went on to win two more elections under his leadership: in 2001, in which it won another landslide victory, and...