Knut Hamsun
Knut HamsunAugust 4, 1859 - February 19, 1952
Knut Hamsun (August 4, 1859 – February 19, 1952) was a Norwegian author, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1920. Hamsun's work spans more than 70 years and shows variation with regard to the subject, perspective and environment. He published more than 20 novels, a collection of poetry, some short stories and plays, a travelogue, and some essays. The young Hamsun objected to realism and naturalism. He argued that the main object of modernist literature should be the intricacies of the human mind, that writers should describe the "whisper of blood, and the pleading of bone...

Similar authors to Knut Hamsun

Jo Nesbo
Jo NesboMarch 29, 1960 -
Jostein Gaarder
Jostein GaarderAugust 8, 1952 -
Jostein Gaarder (Norwegian: [ˈjuːstaɪn ˈɡɔːrdər]; born in Oslo on August 8, 1952) is a Norwegian intellectual and author of several novels, short stories and children's books. Gaarder often writes from the perspective of children, exploring their sense of wonder about the world. He often utilizes metafiction in his works and constructs stories within stories. His best known work is the novel Sophie's World: A Novel About the History of Philosophy. It been translated into 60 languages; there are over 40 million copies in print....